The Injury: Episode 2.12

212injury-bigger“The Injury”
Season 2 Episode 12
Air Date: January 12, 2006
Writer: Mindy Kaling
Summary:
After burning his foot on a George Foreman Grill, Michael tries to entice sympathy from the staff for his “disability.” Meanwhile, Jim and Pam are suspicious of Dwight as he acts stranger than usual.

1. Supplemental Materials
Pam Pong Scorecard, transcript at OfficeQuotes.net

2. Quick Recap
“Please Don’t Send Dwight”: Pam gets a frantic phone call from Michael saying he burned his foot. How? By stepping on a George Foreman Grill that he keeps by his bed so he can wake up to the smell of bacon. Dwight rushes to his car, then hits the gate pole and throws up on his car before driving off to get Michael.
“A Bloody Stump of a Foot”: Entering with crutches and a bubble-wrapped foot, Michael expects the staff to give him special treatment but is dismayed that no one is taking his injury seriously. He goes even further and claims he’s disabled, holding a conference about living with disabilities and inviting the building manager, who uses a wheelchair, in to speak.
“Oh, my God, Dwight’s kind of my friend!” After bringing Michael to work, Dwight starts acting strange. He trails off mid-sentence, calls people by the wrong name, and strangest of all acts really friendly towards Pam. Jim suspects Dwight has a concussion from his car accident and takes him to the hospital.
“You’re his emergency contact”: Dwight insists Michael comes to the hospital, where Michael continues his quest for sympathy by asking the doctor examining Dwight about his foot. Jim calls to let Pam know Dwight will be okay, a message she relays to a very concerned Angela.

2A: Flonkerton Medal Ceremony
The “Get Your Friends Hooked” Medal: This is a hilarious episode that doesn’t need a lot of back story to appreciate, and a good one to lure your friends into Dunder Mifflin Insanity.

Previous Episode: 211 Booze Cruise | Next Episode: 213 The Secret

3. Flonkerton’s Favorite Quotes
Michael TH: I enjoy having breakfast in bed. I like waking up to the smell of bacon, sue me. And since I don’t have a butler, I have to do it myself. So, most nights before I go to bed, I will lay six strips of bacon out on my George Foreman Grill. Then I go to sleep. When I wake up, I plug in the grill, I go back to sleep again. Then I wake up to the smell of crackling bacon. It is delicious, it’s good for me. It’s the perfect way to start the day. Today I got up, I stepped onto the grill and it clamped down on my foot… that’s it. I don’t see what’s so hard to believe about that.

Kevin: Can you hop?
Michael [on phone]: I tried hopping, Kevin, and I bumped my elbow against the wall and now my elbow has a protruberance.

Pam: You missed two big conference calls today, one with corporate.
Michael: Did you explain why?
Pam: No, I didn’t mention that you cooked your foot.

[Jim pops the bubblewrap Michael used to cover his foot]
Michael:
Please stop popping my cast. Thank you.
Jim: So, where are you shipping your foot?

Pam: [phone rings] What.
Michael: Come here please.
Pam: Tell me before I come there.
Michael: I want you to rub butter on my foot.
Pam: No.
Michael: Pam, please? I have Country Crock.

Michael: Can I have everyone’s attention please? Phyllis, Oscar, Ryan, who’s supposed to be dead, can I ask you all a question? Do you all know what it’s like to be disabled? Oscar?
Phyllis: Um, I had scoliosis as a girl.
Michael: No, never heard of it. No, a real disability, not a woman’s trouble.
Creed: When I was a teenager, I was in an iron lung.
Michael: Wuh, how, how old are you?

Michael TH: You know what? I feel better. Ryan brought me some chocolate pudding and his kindness healed my foot.
Michael: Yeah, baby, I am feelin’ better. My body’s literally healing itself. It is amazing what the human body is capable of when you have a powerful brain.
Ryan TH: I ground up four extra-strength aspirin and put them in Michael’s pudding. I do the same thing with my dog to get him to take his heartworm medicine.

Dwight: Where are we going?
Jim: We’re going to Chuck E. Cheese.
Michael: Chuck E. Cheese? Oh, God, I’m so sick of Chuck E. Cheese.
Jim: We’re going to the hospital, Michael.

Michael: Give me the bottle or you’re fired.
Dwight: You can’t fire me, I don’t work in this van!

Michael: Dwight, what is your middle name.
Dwight: Danger.
Michael: Something with a “K”.
Jim: It’s Kurt. Wow, I am so sad that I know that.

4. Trivia

  • This is the first appearance of Billy Merchant, the building manager.
  • Angela is caught “out of character” laughing in the opening moments of the episode. Angela Kinsey admitted that she didn’t know the cameras were rolling.
  • The MP3 website Dwight tells Pam about was most likely AllOfMP3.com, a Russian website that offered song downloads for pennies. The site closed down due to legal issues in 2007.
  • There’s a reference to Michael’s “injury” next season in “Ben Franklin.”

5. Grade This Episode

Leave a Reply

