Summer Viewing Club: Phyllis’ Wedding

This is the 9th installment of my viewing club series. Each week, whatever rerun NBC airs, I will suggest 2 or 3 episodes with the same “theme” and post some discussion questions.

This week’s rerun: Phyllis’ Wedding
The theme: Secondary Character Love
Sure, Michael, Dwight, Jim, Pam and Ryan might be the “money beets” of Dunder Mifflin, but “The Office” just wouldn’t be “The Office” without the myriad of secondary characters. From uptight sticklers to gossip queens to a guy we’re pretty sure is homeless, here’s to the supporting characters that enrich our Office experience.

The Viewing List
Boy and Girls (2.15): We learn about the aspirations of the office women during a “Women in the Workplace” seminar, meanwhile the men of the office have some rare interaction with the warehouse workers.

Branch Closing (3.07): The workers are forced to think about a life beyond Dunder Mifflin when it’s revealed the Scranton branch is closing.

Phyllis’ Wedding (3.16): The Dunder Mifflin crew is on hand as Phyllis becomes “Mrs. Vance, Vance Refrigeration” and Kevin’s Police cover band make their big debut.

Product Recall (3.21): When an obscene watermark is discovered on shipment of paper, Kelly is in charge of the call center (much to Angela’s dismay) and Creed manages to swindle money out of the crew.

Discussion Questions
1. Who is your favorite secondary character. What is your favorite moment with that character?

2. In general do you think “The Office” has too many, not enough, or just the right number of secondary characters? Why?

3. Be honest, if one Dunder Mifflinite had to be fired, who would you be least sad to see go?

4. You’re writing an episode that spotlights one of the secondary characters. Who would you pick, and what would the (very basic) plot of your episode be?

Watch the episodes, ponder the questions, and post some answers. And feel free to post suggestions for the next SVC. NBC will be airing a repeat of “Business School”.

2 thoughts on “Summer Viewing Club: Phyllis’ Wedding

  1. I posted these answers over at LiveJournal. So I figured I’d put them here.

    1. Who is your favorite secondary character. What is your favorite moment with that character?
    It’s probably a tie between Kevin and Angela.
    Favorite Kevin moment: probably his “heads up” to Jim in Boys and Girls, and warning Jim way too late about Roy in The Negotiation.
    Favorite Angela moment: I generally love any moment between her and Pam just because we know they’re real-life BFF’s so I always imagine them ruining a bunch of takes because they’re cracking up.

    2. In general do you think “The Office” has too many, not enough, or just the right number of secondary characters? Why?
    It’s alright now, but I don’t think they should add any more next season.

    3. Be honest, if one Dunder Mifflinite had to be fired, who would you be least sad to see go?
    Probably Oscar, he was gone for 3 months last season and I barely missed him. Sorry Oscar 😦

    4. You’re writing an episode that spotlights one of the secondary character. Who would you pick, and what would the (very basic) plot of your episode be?
    I think I would give Toby a little love and feature him.
    In my episode he would finally snap and say something really mean to, let’s say, Kelly. Kelly wants to file a complaint and since Toby’s the Scranton HR guy, she has to go above him. In order to settle the dispute, Michael mediates a session between Kelly and Toby (and is not-so-secretly on Kelly’s side). Hilarity ensues.

  2. 1. Angela (though I don’t really think that she can actually be considered a secondary character anymore…she almost feels vital to the show now).
    Just ONE moment?!? No, I can’t pick just one, so I’ll mention a couple:
    a) Her line, “I like to dangle things in front of my cats…” I have NO idea why, but I find that little scene so hilarious.
    b) “No cookie!” Greatest Angela/Dwight interaction EVER, it even tops the moment where the two of them go at it in the office for me.
    c) “No Dwight! I don’t care if that’s the way they consolidated power in ancient Rome!” I laughed and laughed and laughed and laughed some more.
    d) Where she suggests to try a “petting zoo” when they’re looking for a whole pig to roast for their luau.
    Really, Angela is just pure, comedic gold. She needs more recognition for her character, I think.

    2. I think it’s just about right. I don’t want them adding any new characters. I’m never a really big fan when they add these new people from other branches…

    3. Oscar, maybe Stanley.

    4. Eep! I don’t know! :/ I think that I would like to feature Toby probably, I’m rather fond of him…I have no idea what the episode would be about. Maybe figuring out just why Michael hates him? Haha, I don’t know…

Leave a Reply

